Research about young people's use of social media and how it impacts their health and rights.
Last Updated: Jul 8, 2013
- Click to search Popline
The POPLINE database on reproductive health provides more than 360,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.
The Center on Media and Child Health at Children's Hospital Boston, Harvard Medical School, and Harvard School of Public Health is dedicated to understanding and responding to the effects of media on the physical, mental, and social health of children through research, translation, and education. Find resources for researchers as well as parents on how media impacts health.
- Search the CMCH Database
Find peer-reviewed, scholarly information about the media's impact
- How American teens navigate the new world of "digital citizenship" | Pew Internet & American Life Project
Most American teens who use social media say that in their experience, people their age are mostly kind to one another on social network sites. Overall, 69% of social media-using teens think that peers are mostly kind to each other on social network sites. Another 20% say that peers are mostly unkind, while 11% volunteered that “it depends.”
- Youth and Social Media| Pew Internet & American Life Project
Since 2006, blogging has dropped among teens and young adults while simultaneously rising among older adults. As the tools and technology embedded in social networking sites change, and use of the sites continues to grow, youth may be exchanging ‘macro-blogging’ for microblogging with status updates.
- Sexting | Pew Internet & American Life Project
In a nationally representative survey of those ages 12-17 conducted on landline and cell phones, the Pew Research Center’s Internet & American Life Project found:4% of cell-owning teens ages 12-17 say they have sent sexually suggestive nude or nearly nude images of themselves to someone else via text messaging; 15% of cell-owning teens ages 12-17 say they have received sexually suggestive nude or nearly nude images of someone they know via text messaging on their cell phone.
- Pew Internet: Health | Pew Research Center's Internet & American Life Project
Highlights of the Pew Internet Project’s research related to the Internet, health and health care from July 2013.
- CDC - Injury - Electronic Media and Youth Violence: A CDC Research Brief for Researchers
In September 2006, CDC convened an expert panel to discuss the latest information on how technology is used by young people to behave aggressively. The panel affirmed the need for a purposeful approach to preventing youth violence and aggression perpetrated through the use of electronic media.
- Use of the Internet for Health Information: United States, 2009
Research has shown that 74% of all U.S. adults use the Internet, and 61% have looked for health or medical information on the Internet. Additionally, 49% have accessed a website that provides information about a specific medical condition or problem.
- Archives of Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine Special Issue: Media and Children
A collection of studies on how media impacts all aspects of youth health.
- Report of the APA Task Force on the Sexualization of Girls
This report examines and summarizes psychological theory, research and clinical experience addressing the sexualization of girls.The report (a) defines sexualization; (b) examines the prevalence and provides examples of sexualization in society and in cultural institutions, as well as interpersonally and intrapsychically; (c) evaluates the evidence suggesting that sexualization has negative consequences for girls and for the rest of society; and (d) describes positive alternatives that may help
- American Academy of Pediatrics: The Impact of Social Media on Children, Adolescents, and Families
Pediatricians are in a unique position to help families understand social media sites and to encourage healthy use and urge parents to monitor for potential problems with cyberbullying, “Facebook depression,” sexting, and exposure to inappropriate content.
Citations for recently published journal articles, provided by the National Library of Medicine. Visit PubMed or use the PubMed search box (left) to learn more.
Still have questions? Email the librarian: firstname.lastname@example.org
Click below to submit a link to a new publication, website, or journal article you think will help people doing research on this topic!