From Advocates for Youth
- Adolescent Sexual Health in Europe and the US: The Case For A Rights. Respect. Responsibility.® Approach
- Unintended Pregnancy Among Young People in the United States
- Adolescents and Sexually Transmitted Infections
- Young People and HIV
- Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Questioning (GLBTQ) Youth
- Growth and Development
- Adolescents and Abortion
Search the web
Search Google Scholar
Search Popline
- Click to search PoplineThe POPLINE database on reproductive health provides more than 360,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.
Recent News
Statistics, Surveillance, and Reports
- Teenagers in the United States: Sexual Activity, Contraceptive Use, and Childbearing, 2006–2010 National Survey of Family GrowthIn 2006–2010, about 43% of never-married female teenagers (4.4 million), and about 42% of never-married male teenagers (4.5 million) had had sexual intercourse at least once.
- CDC-Youth Online-High School YRBS: Home PageYouth Online lets you analyze national, state, and local Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) data from 1991-2009, including data on sexual activity and condom/contraception use. Data from high school and middle school surveys are included.
- Kaiser Family Foundation - Sexual Health of Adolescent and Young Adults in the United StatesPublished in January 2011, this fact sheet provides the most up to date statistics on adolescent sexual behavior and sexual health.
- CDC - Data Briefs - Educating Teenagers about Sexual HealthThis is a survey conducted in 2007-2008 about the effects sex education has on teenagers and their sexual choices.
- CDC - Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System - Sexual Behavior - High RiskThis is a Powerpoint by the CDC that shows vital statistics of teens who are engaging in risky sexual behaviors. Also includes stats on teenagers who receive(d) sexual education and know about contraception. (WARNING: Will download onto your computer.)
- CDC - Sexual and Reproductive Health of Persons Aged 10-24 Years - United States - 2002-2007This page, also from the CDC, comes from a survey done over a span of five years. It also includes a .pdf of their complete findings while the site itself highlights key information.
- Guttmacher Institute - Facts on American Teens' Sexual and Reproductive HealthAlthough only 13% of teens have ever had vaginal sex by age 15, sexual activity is common by the late teen years. By their 19th birthday, seven in 10 teens of both sexes have had intercourse.
- 50-State and National Comparisons | The National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy -Compare state and national stats on teen pregnancy, birth, sexual behavior, and other info
- Pew Research Center's Internet & American Life ProjectReports exploring the impact of the internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life. Visit the "Teens" or "Health" topic for info about teens, health, and online life.
- CDC - School Health ProfilesFor each state, download a factsheet about sexual health indicators and school policies, as well as other information about school health.
- Sexual Health of Young People in the U.S. South: Challenges and OpportunitiesThis report, Sexual Health of Young People in the U.S. South: Challenges and Opportunities,examines the current challenges and opportunities related to the sexual health of young peoplein 10 Southern states: Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina,South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia. It includes a profile of key sociodemographic factorsin the South relevant to sexual health, including: population growth, race, poverty, and women’seducational attainment. The report then looks at the sexual health profile of young peopleincluding indicators such as: sexually transmitted infections, HIV, teenage pregnancy, teenagebirth, and low birth weight. Finally, the report explores sexual health education practices in theSouthern states and the challenges and opportunities they offer to improve the sexual health ofyoung people in the U.S. South.
- Sexual Experience and Contraceptive Use Among Female Teens — United States, 1995, 2002, and 2006–2010 (CDC)To describe trends in sexual experience and use of contraceptive methods among females aged 15–19 years, CDC analyzed data from the National Survey of Family Growth collected for 1995, 2002, and 2006–2010 (3). During 2006–2010, 57% of females aged 15–19 years had never had sex (defined as vaginal intercourse), an increase from 49% in 1995. Younger teens (aged 15–17 years) were more likely not to have had sex (73%) than older teens (36%); the proportion of teens who had never had sex did not differ by race/ethnicity. Approximately 60% of sexually experienced teens reported current use of highly effective contraceptive methods (e.g., intrauterine device [IUD] or hormonal methods), an increase from 47% in 1995.
Pubmed Feed: Recent Research on Adolescent Sexual Behavior
Citations for recently published journal articles, provided by the National Library of Medicine. Visit PubMed or use the PubMed search box (left) to learn more.
New and Notable
- Acceptability and Feasibility of Rapid HIV Testing in an Adolescent Clinic Setting: Youth Testing Attitudes, Knowledge, and Behaviors (Journal of Adolescent Health, December 2011)There was strong support for RHT among youth receiving HIV testing. Offering RHT to youth may facilitate routine testing. Future research should focus on increasing RHT access among diverse populations of youth.
- Male Adolescent Sexual and Reproductive Health Care (Pediatrics, November 2011)Male adolescents' sexual and reproductive health needs often go unmet in the primary care setting. This report discusses specific issues related to male adolescents' sexual and reproductive health care in the context of primary care, including pubertal and sexual development, sexual behavior, consequences of sexual behavior, and methods of preventing sexually transmitted infections (including HIV) and pregnancy.
- PLoS ONE: Abstinence-Only Education and Teen Pregnancy Rates: Why We Need Comprehensive Sex Education in the U.S (November, 2011)These data show clearly that abstinence-only education as a state policy is ineffective in preventing teenage pregnancy and may actually be contributing to the high teenage pregnancy rates in the U.S. In alignment with the new evidence-based Teen Pregnancy Prevention Initiative and the Precaution Adoption Process Model advocated by the National Institutes of Health, we propose the integration of comprehensive sex and STD education into the biology curriculum in middle and high school science cla
- Crossing the Line: Sexual Harassment at Schools | AAUWBased on findings from a nationally representative survey conducted in May and June, 2011, this report presents the most comprehensive research to date on sexual harassment in grades 7-12 and reveals some sobering statistics about the prevalence of sexual harassment and the negative impact it has on students' education.
- How best to teach American Muslim youth about sexuality?
- Uses of Youth Risk Behavior Survey and School Health Profiles Data: Applications for Improving Adolescent and School Health - Foti - 2011 - Journal of School Health - Wiley Online Libraryhe purpose of this article is to describe the importance and potential impact of Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS) and Profiles data based on examples from participating sites.
- ETR Health Promotion - Product Details - Reducing Adolescent Sexual Risk -Written by Douglas Kirby, Ph.D., and his colleagues, long known for their groundbreaking work in adolescent sexuality. Helps health professionals design, adapt and select curriculum-based programs to effectively address critical factors that affect teens' sexual decision making
- Sexual Identity, Sex of Sexual Contacts, and Health-Risk Behaviors Among Students in Grades 9--12 --- Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance, Selected Sites, United States, 2001--2009Across the nine sites that assessed sexual identity, the prevalence among gay or lesbian students was higher than the prevalence among heterosexual students for a median of 63.8% of all the risk behaviors measured, and the prevalence among bisexual students was higher than the prevalence among heterosexual students for a median of 76.0% of all the risk behaviors measured.
- Barely Half of U.S. Adults Are Married | Pew Social & Demographic Trends, Dec 2011Barely half of all adults in the United States—a record low—are currently married, and the median age at first marriage has never been higher for brides (26.5 years) and grooms (28.7), according to a new Pew Research Center analysis of U.S. Census data.
- Adolescent Perceptions of Risk and Need for Safer Sexual Behaviors After First Human Papillomavirus Vaccination (Archives of Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine, January 2012)Few adolescents perceived less need for safer sexual behaviors after the first HPV vaccination. Education about HPV vaccines and encouraging communication between girls and their mothers may prevent misperceptions among these adolescents.
- Adolescent Health Literacy: The Importance of Credible Sources for Online Health Information (Journal of School Health, January 2012)An online survey was administered to a cross-sectional random sample of high school students in South Texas. Self-reported sociodemographic characteristics and data on health-information-seeking behavior and exposure to MedlinePlus® were collected. Health literacy was assessed by eHEALS and the Newest Vital Sign (NVS). Linear and binary logistic regressions were completed.
- American Public Health Association - Determinants of and Disparities in Reproductive Health Service Use Among Adolescent and Young Adult Women in the United States, 2002–2008Inequalities in reproductive health service use exist among women in the United States, particularly among the youngest and socially disadvantaged women, which may translate to poor and disparate reproductive outcomes. Public health and policy strategies are needed to eliminate inequities in reproductive health service.
- Marijuana Use and Risky Sexual Behavior Among Hi... [Dev Psychol. 2012] - PubMed - NCBIIn-depth analysis of the most recent intercourse occasion suggested that condom use was less likely if marijuana was being used by the participant or his/her partner and that this association was more pronounced if intercourse occurred with someone the participant had just met. Implications for the prevention of risky sexual behavior in this population are discussed.
- Cash, Cars, and Condoms: Economic Factors in Disadvantaged Adolescent Women's Condom UseWomen whose boyfriend was their primary spending money source were 50% more likely never to use condoms at 6 and 12 months and less likely to respond to the intervention at 12 months. Women whose boyfriend had been their primary spending money source but found another spending money source were more likely to start using condoms than women who continued. Women whose boyfriends owned cars were more likely never to use condoms.
- The Male Genital Examination: A Position Paper of the Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine
- A Family Intervention to Reduce Sexual Risk Behavior, Substance Use, and Delinquency Among Newly Homeless YouthSexual risk behavior (e.g., mean number of partners; p < .001), alcohol use (p = .003), hard drug use (p < .001), and delinquent behaviors (p = .001) decreased significantly more during 12 months in the intervention condition compared with the control condition. Marijuana use, however, significantly increased in the intervention condition compared with the control condition (p < .001).
- Patterns and Correlates of Parental and Formal Sexual and Reproductive Health Communication for Adolescent Women in the United States, 2002–2008Between 2002 and 2008, receipt of parental SRH communication, especially abstinence, was increasingly common among United States adolescents. Strategies to promote comprehensive communication may improve adolescents' SRH outcomes.
Adolescent Sexual Risk Reduction Programs
- Advocates for Youth - Science and Success, 2nd Ed.: Programs that Work to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, HIV and STIs in the U.S>
- Act For Youth - Research Facts and Findings - What Works?
- Sexuality Research and Social Policy - The Impact of Abstinence and Comprehensive Sex and STD/HIV Education Programs on Adolescent Sexual Behavior
- Emerging Answers
- UUA: Our Whole Lives Lifespan Sexuality Education Curricula
Journals
These journals usually require subscription or are pay-per-article.
- Journal of Adolescent Health
- Contraception
- Journal of School Health
- Journal of Adolescent Research
- Journal of Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology
- Sexuality and Culture
- Archives of Pediatrics & Adolescent Medicine
- Characteristics of African American Adolescent Females Who Perceive Their Current Boyfriends Have Concurrent Sexual Partners
Books and Movies
My Profile |
Contact Info Advocates for Youth 2000 M Street NW, Suite 750 Washington, DC 20036 202 419 3420 Follow @AdvocatesTweets on Twitter Send Email |
Ask a Question
Still have questions? Email the librarian: emily@advocatesforyouth.org
Related Research Guide
Youth Sexual Health in the Global South
- Last Updated Dec 12, 2011
A guide to recent research on the sexual and reproductive health and rights of young people in low and middle income countries.
- Last Updated Dec 12, 2011
A guide to recent research on the sexual and reproductive health and rights of young people in low and middle income countries.
Submit a new resource!
Click below to submit a link to a new publication, website, or journal article you think will help people doing research on this topic!


Loading...

Submit
Loading...
